750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Everyday Cooking, Easy Recipes for a Perfect Dinner!
27 avril 2012

Daring Bakers' April 2012 Challenge - Nazook -

Our April 2012 Daring Bakers host was Jason from DailyCondor. Jason challenged us to make Nazook and/or Armenian Nutmeg cake. I chose to make Nazook - Armenian pastry -. I did not make Nutmeg Cake, because I am not a fan of nutmeg in cake :(

I enjoyed  making nazook. This challenge is so fun to make. I had a lot of choice for the filling - apple, chocolate....- I prepared traditional nazook with sugar filling.

Armenian Nazook

  One Saturday I decided to make Nazook with my son. I prepared the pastry dough, put it in the fridge for 3 hours and my son made the filling.

NazookWow, it was soooo delicious!!! We ate a lot of nazook. We couldn't stop to eat these lovely pastries. I am sure this wonderful recipe is great for a party.

Nazooks

   I sprinkle the top with sugar just before to bake. These nazook are so beautiful. With a cup of tea or a cup of coffee, It's really a great snack to spend a wonderful afternoon with friends :)

Spring

       I enjoyed making Nazook during a wonderful day of spring :) And enjoyed eat a lot of these small beautiful pastries!!!!!

Yields : 40 pieces

Ingredients :

Pastry Dough

  • 3 cups (720 ml) (420 gr/15 oz) all-purpose (plain) flour, sifted
  • 21/2 tsp (121/2 ml) (7 gr) (1/4 oz) (1 packet) active dry yeast
  • 1 cup (240 ml) (225 gr/8oz) sour cream
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) ((240 ml) 225 gr/8oz) softened butter (room temperature)

Filling

  • 11/2 cups (360ml) (210gr) (71/2 oz) all-purpose (plain) flour, sifted
  • 11/2 cups (360 ml) (340 gr/12 oz) sugar
  • 3/4 cup (11/2 sticks) (180 ml) (170 gr/6 oz) softened butter (room temperature)
  • 2 tsp (10 ml) vanilla extract 

Wash

  • 1-2 egg yolks (for the wash; alternatively, some yogurt, egg whites or a whole egg)

Directions :

Make the Pastry Dough

  1. Place the sifted flour into a large bowl.
  2. Add the dry yeast, and mix it in.
  3. Add the sour cream, and the softened butter.
  4. Use your hands, or a standing mixer with a paddle attachment, to work it into a dough.
  5. If using a standing mixer, switch to a dough hook. If making manually, continue to knead for about 10 minutes, or until the dough no longer sticks to the bowl or your hands. If it remains very sticky, add some flour, a little at a time.
  6. Cover the dough and refrigerate for 3-5 hours, or overnight if you like.

Make the filling

  1. Mix the flour, sugar, and the softened butter in a medium bowl.
  2. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Mix the filling until it looks like clumpy, damp sand. It should not take long. Set aside.

Make the nazook 

  1. Preheat the oven to moderate 350°F/175°C
  2. Cut the refrigerated dough into quarters.
  3. Form one of the quarters into a ball. Dust your working surface with a little flour.
  4. Roll out the dough into a large rectangle or oval. The dough should be thin, but not transparent.
  5. Spread 1/4 of the filling mixture across the rolled-out dough in an even layer. Try to spread the filling as close as possible to the edges on the short sides, but keep some of pastry dough uncovered (1 inch/2.5 cm) along the long edges.
  6. From one of the long sides, start slowly rolling the dough across. Be carreful to make sure the filing stays evenly distributed. Roll all the way across until you have a long, thin loaf.
  7. Pat down the loaf with your palm and fingers so that it flattens out a bit (just a bit).
  8. Apply your egg yolk wash with a pastry brush.
  9. Use your crinkle cutter (or knife) to cut the loaf into 10 equally-sized pieces. Put onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
  10. Place in a preheated moderate oven for about 25-30 minutes, until the tops are a rich, golden brown.
  11. Allow to cool and enjoy!

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
E
Wow -- beautiful nazook. I like the idea of sprinkling sugar on top to add a little extra something.
M
I'm not sure if I've ever had a nazook. They look absolutely delicious! Beautiful job on a difficult challenge from my perspective! I can't believe you made your puff pastry from scratch!
S
Your photos are lovely and your nazook look delicious! I ate too may as well!!
K
The Nazooks look very yummy, wants me to go back to the kitchen and bake some more. I loved making the cake and the Nazooks and think this was a great Daring Bakers Challenge. Because I live in Sydney I actually posted some autumn trees which I saw on my walk before I had the cake for afternoon tea. Nice to see that you can enjoy them in Spring too.:-)
P
The sugar on top is such a great idea! I'm making them again this weekend and will definitely try that! :)

photo_banner

Publicité
Everyday Cooking,                 Easy Recipes for a Perfect Dinner!

150x200_top_mommy_blogs2

 

banner_white_125x1

Mt Pleasant-South Carolina-

Mount_Pleasant___South_Carolina

Mt_Pleasant___South_Carolina

Publicité